Sanjay Kumar Agarwal Takes Charge as CBIC Chairman

The government on Saturday announced the appointment of Sanjay Kumar Agarwal, IRS as the new chairman of the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC).

He has succeeded Vivek Johri who superannuated on May 31.

“The President of India is pleased to appoint Shri Sanjay Kumar Agarwal, IRS, …member CBIC as chairman CBIC in the department of revenue …with status of Special Secretary to the Government of India with effect from date of assumption of the post…,” the finance ministry said in an office order.

Prior to this, Agarwal was holding charge as a CBIC member compliance management, looking into investigations.

In a separate order, the finance ministry announced that Surjit Bhujabal, currently principal director general, DGGI, has been appointed as CBIC member.

The CBIC board has a chairman who is assisted by six members who look into tax policy, customs, IT & taxpayer services, GST, compliance management and vigilance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *