CBIC announces second phase of Faceless Assessment from August 3

The Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC), on Thursday, notified about the second phase of All India roll-out of Faceless Assessment commencing from August 3, 2020.

As per Board’s decision, in its second phase, the new facility will also cover Delhi and Mumbai Customs Zones and will be extended at Chennai and Bengaluru Customs Zones.

The Board issued a notification to empower the Jurisdiction Commissioner of Customs at the four Customs Zones to take up appeals filed in respect to the Faceless Assessment pertaining to imports in their jurisdiction even though the assessing officer is located at other custom station.

“Board hereby nominates the Principal Commissioner / Commissioner of Customs, Import-II, New Customs House, Mumbai, the Principal Commissioner/Commissioner of Customs, Nhava Sheva-I, Jawaharlal Nehru Customs House, Mumbai and the Principal Commissioner/ Commissioner of Customs(III), Import, Air Cargo Complex, Sahar, Mumbai as Nodal Commissioners who shall be administratively responsible for monitoring and ensuring speedy and uniform assessment in the three Customs Zones, in regard to Bills of Entry assigned by the Customs Automated System to the officers of the Faceless Assessment Groups,” the circular read.

Further it said, “The concerned Principal Chief Commissioner / Chief Commissioners are required to issue public notices and guide trade suitable to ensure the smooth rollout of the phase 2 of Faceless Assessment.”

Commenced on 8th July at the Bengaluru and Chennai Customs Zones, the first phase marked the beginning of the pan India roll-out of Faceless Assessment and was for items of imports primarily covered by Chapters 84 and 85 of the Customs Tariff Act, 1975.

As informed earlier, it covered other ports and items of imports in different phases, leading up to this mode of customs assessment becoming the norm across the country from January 1, 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *